Young Economist Award

The France Israel Foundation organizes two prizes for young economists, awarded every year, to honour a French and an Israeli young economist whose work has gained international distinction.

Conditions of eligibility:

  • 40 years for a French economist on December 31, 2019

  • 45 years for an Israeli economist (because of the length of military service) on December 31, 2019

The  two prizes are awarded once a year and are granted for a very high quality research in any economic domain.

The jury is composed of 6 members designated by the FIF 

3 Israeli and 3 French members

  • Professor Philippe Aghion, Harvard and chair of the department of economy at College de France

  • Professor Elhanan Helpman, president of the jury, Harvard

  • Professor Helene Rey, London Scholol of economics

  • Professor Nathan Sussman, Hebrew University

  • Professor Manuel Trajtenberg Tel Aviv University

  • Professor Jean Tirole, Nobel Prize, Toulouse school of economics.


Prizes worth 40000 euros each will be awarded either in France or in Israel according to the decision of the FFI.

The candidates will be nominated by institutions or individual researchers.) (cf bylaws)


The dossiers are to be sent before February 1st, 2020 to 


Records must include:

  • a letter of sponsorship signed by the person or institution that recommends it

  • a one-page statement explaining how this candidate deserves this award

  • a list of the 3 major publications of the candidate

  • the curriculum vitae of the candidate

  • the name of the candidate and his institutional affiliation

Given the international health situation, the award ceremony is postponed to 2021. 

 As it was impossible to award this prize this year, four prizes will be awarded in 2021 (winners of 2020 and 2021).

The date and place will be communicated later.

Reconnue d'utilité publique
  • Facebook

Fondation France-Israël

+33 1 82 28 95 85

BP 20024

75 362 PARIS Cedex 08